The truth about clarity

“Truth is like the sun. You can shut it out for a time, but it ain’t goin’ away”.
— Elvis Presley

In the past month, I have learned some joyful and painful lessons about clarity, especially the importance of being clear. Often what we hear may or may not be what the person said or meant. We need to repeat it or sometimes follow up with writing. When we leave things unclear, it causes more disappointment, hurt, and even anger in the long run. I have learned that leaving things up for discussion, not repeating what I heard, and not following through in writing, are all ways that diminish clarity in our lives.  The truth is that I owe it to myself to make sure that everyone I deal with understands my position. I will be the first to admit that this is very difficult and uncomfortable to have these conversations. However, if you are not honest about the truth of how you are feeling or the situation, it breeds resentment and causes unnecessary stress in your life.  It’s better to clear things up immediately than let them drag on.

A couple of weeks ago, I was feeling stressed because one of my clients were trying to pressure me to do something that I didn’t want to do. I told a friend about it and she said, just say no. Be clear about what you want. It sounded so easy then why was I having so much anxiety about it? It was because I didn’t want to anger the client and I wanted to be agreeable. In addition, I didn’t want to appear to be difficult to work with; however, was it worth making myself misireable to please someone else? No it was not. After I thought about it, I did say no; I felt so much relief; and I still have the client.

Why is it that sometimes we are afraid to have clarity in our lives? Do we feel like we don’t deserve it? I had to learn that I have to stand in my power of what I want and not to apologize for any of it. I have decided to make sure that I’m very clear with my intentions and what I expect from each relationship, business and personal.

I’m going to continue to be conscious of clarity and bring intention to everything I do. I need to be clear when I step in my power. When I dance, I don’t hesitate with my steps, I am very clear with each one. I realize that this practice can be very helpful in other aspects of my life.

Please know that sometimes when we seek clarity and we are shown the truth. Sometimes the truth requires that we take action. It may cause us to dissolve or re-adjust some relationships that we currently have in our lives and that part of our growth.
“As I began to discover my own truth and endeavored to possess it with clarity, I became more and more alienated from that which my companions held, or professed to hold”.
-Juan Goytisolo

About areyouactingup

Theatre and film producer and director that specializes in professional development in acting, public speaking, casting, and choreography based out of Atlanta Georgia and New York City.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Desire, Joy, Self-Help, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

