Awareness: The power of your word

“The Universe totally supports us in every thought we choose to think and believe”.

-Louise Hay

Are we aware of the way the universe supports us in what we choose to think or believe? Awareness can be defined of consciously having knowledge.  Part of the battle is bringing awareness to each thought and belief. Often our thoughts and beliefs are so strong that we no longer think of them consciously. What we choose to think and believe can be a positive or negative choice.

When we were young, we learned the rhyme: “sticks and stones will break my bones but words will never hurt me”.  At the time, those were words of comfort; however, now over the years I have come to realize that words can hurt and help us. What we think and what we say are powerful. Once we put the words in the universe, we can never take the words back. Often we harbor negative thoughts and words in our subconscious and then it becomes part of our reality without us even realizing it.

Recently, one of my friends brought to my attention that every time I spoke about a certain subject I used words such as “it is so hard, difficult, and challenging”.  She said that when she heard me say those words, I was giving power to them and that might be  why it continues to be so hard, difficult, and challenging because I truly see it that way. In other words, my thoughts and words have become my reality. I hadn’t realized how much I said those words with this subject until she brought it to my attention. I was shocked. I began to change my language immediately and my viewpoint has changed.

During this week, take the challenge and become more aware of your thoughts and beliefs by keeping track of how many positive and negative words and thoughts you  say to yourself and others. When we say something negative about a situation or ourselves, try to think of another way to reword it to expect a positive result. For example, when you say something like “I can’t believe we only had three people show up for a meeting. It’s so difficult to get people to participate in this organization”. Instead you could say, “I’m thankful for the people who are here, let’s make this a productive meeting”. Often we take out our resentment on the few people who are dedicated instead of being grateful that they showed up at all. Remember it is quality not quanatity.

 

 

About areyouactingup

Theatre and film producer and director that specializes in professional development in acting, public speaking, casting, and choreography based out of Atlanta Georgia and New York City.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Desire, Joy, Self-Help, Spiritual, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

